Moving characters between campaigns

Comments

2 comments

  • Avatar
    Jacob Holcomb

    Better yet, allow the unowned data to continue to exist in a disabled state (allowing it to be deleted manually).  This way when the character moves back into a state where the data is available it can be dynamically enabled.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Haravikk

    Better yet, allow the unowned data to continue to exist in a disabled state (allowing it to be deleted manually).

    The facility to do this should actually already exist behind the scenes, as this is essentially how it works when content sharing is suspended (disabled by DM, subscription lapses etc.), allowing characters to retain already used content, but they can't gain levels in the unowned content until sharing is restored.

    My group recently had to do this and while I fortunately am the one who owns most of the content, some of our other players weren't so lucky so it was a huge pain in the ass to switch campaigns.

    I think the easiest solution would be when joining a new campaign, don't prevent selecting of characters that are already in a campaign, instead allow them to be selected but give a warning that any content missing in the new campaign will disappear from the character.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.