Campaign Content Sharing and You

Follow

Comments

40 comments

  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    One thing I'm not clear on is if a character is deactivated or removed from a campaign, will the player still be able to access that character if it used content that was shared from the campaign?

    For example I have two campaigns running.  In one campaign several of the people who started aren't able to play at this time.  In an effort to clean things up I was going to remove their characters, but I don't want them to get "lost" by not being able to use them again after I remove them since they were made with the full set of available books and resources I bought online.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    AmbyR

    Hi there!

    The character remains intact and is usable with any selections the user has made for the character at the time they leave the campaign, but any new options will be limited to what they have access to outside of the campaign.

    Basically you get to keep everything, but if you remove or change one of the campaign provided pieces of content, you wont be able to get them back. 

    2
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Richardsmithortegon

    One question: will created content also be shareable among campaign players? for example, if the DM creates multiple characters in his account and a player wants to use one of those characters, will the players have acces to my character roster with the master subscription?

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    AmbyR

    Hi there! The players in your campaign would not have access to your character roster. If you create private homebrew content that can be shared through the content sharing feature. 

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    John Merlin

    There's a limit on the number of campaigns in which content can be used. Is it 3 current campaigns? If not, what happens when I want to start a fourth campaign? Does somebody in the group need to own another copy? If nobody does, am I stuck buying a second copy of the books?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    I'm also unclear as to what would happen if I am not the DM in this situation. 

     

    So for example I have 3 active campaigns at the moment, all of which I DM.  Now say I joined someone else's campaign, and in that campaign THEY have allowed content sharing.  Would I have to turn off content sharing for one of MY campaigns to gain access to all my supplies?  If I am just in the campaign, not running it, and content sharing is enabled would the other players and the DM get access to the supplies I've bought even if I'm already sharing content with three campaigns I run?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    AmbyR

    Hi there!

    If you want to start a fourth campaign you would not be able to turn content sharing on for that campaign. Someone in the campaign does not need to own a second copy of the book. However, someone else in the campaign will need a Master Tier subscription in order to turn content sharing on since you have hit the limit. 

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    AmbyR

    Hi there! 

    The rule is 3 campaigns per subscription. So, the content sharing limit only applies to campaigns where you have it turned on. If you are in another campaign where some else has content sharing turned on then that does not count towards your 3 campaign. It would count towards that person's 3 campaign limit. Also, your unlocked content would still be shared to this campaign. 

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    Okay so I think I understand.

    I can run 3 campaigns myself, with content sharing enabled.

    I can then have say 2 friends each run 3 campaigns with content sharing enabled for another 6 campaigns all using my purchased materials as long as I am one of the 12 members of those campaigns.

    So I can have 102 people freeloading and using my material that I paid for by just having three people pay for subscriptions to be able to allow content sharing (36 over my three campaigns, and another 11 each in six other campaigns I'm in hosted by friends).  Thus making it nothing more than a chore of a pay wall by using an arbitrary number of campaigns and an equally arbitrary number of players in each campaign rather than just letting me host the campaigns I want to and let me share the products I've bought with those people in relation to just my campaigns.  

    All of which is then also negated by me being able to do that simply by turning off content sharing for one campaign and turning it on for another as I need it which means the limits are just unnecessary and only put there to try to squeeze out a bit more money from people for convenience sake.  

     

    Clear as mud, thanks.  :)

    2
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Ryan G.

    A friend of mine is in my campaign. I have the Master Tier subscription and he purchased "The Tortle Package" but everytime I go to create a character the Tortle Race isn't listed as an option. I have enabled content sharing for my campaign and he can see all the books I purchased but not vice versus like your article states. Is this a bug with that one package?

    Solved: Since I am the "DM" I can't just go and create a character from the drop-down menu, I have to create an unassigned character in the campaign to use their content.

    Recommend: Please add feature that allows in the character builder option to pick a campaign to add to so that it can help alleviate confusion with what content is available.  Thanks for great tool though.

    3
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Lester Dizon

    Any update on being able to choose which items to share? For instance, what if Dany purchased Tomb of Annihilation but didn't want it share with the entire group because she would like to DM that adventure? What options will she have? How soon can we expect this to be updated?

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    I'm confused again.  So now anyone can turn on content sharing, not just the DM.

    So scenario:  I am the DM in 3 ongoing games all with content sharing on.  My friend is starting up his own game as a DM and I will be joining as a player.  If I wanted to enable content sharing in his campaign would I have to turn off one of my original 3?  If someone else turns content sharing on instead of me will all of my content still be shared even though I am at my limit of 3? 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    AmbyR

    Hi there! 

    If you wanted to enable content sharing on your friends campaign you would need to turn it off on one of your 3 campaigns. If someone else has the Master subscription and turns on content sharing for the friends campaign your content will still be shared to the campaign. The limit is 3 campaigns per subscription. 

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    So essentially when you start up a master tier subscription you get three keys labeled "enable content sharing" that you can unlock the content block on any three campaigns you choose.  And all of your content, as well as all the content possessed by anyone else in that campaign, will be shared.  It doesn't matter if your key is the one being used or not, as long as you are in the campaign.  Your content is treated completely separate from your "enable content sharing" key.  It doesn't matter if you're in 3 campaigns with the content block unlocked or 30 campaigns, or as many campaigns as you can imagine, as long as someone has spent the money to get those three keys to unlock the content block and allow you to share your content across the board.  

    Or you can have an infinite number of games games you're at least a player in and just keep switching which campaigns have the content block unlocked by switching which campaign you use your "enable content sharing" keys on at any given time, so long as no more than 3 are using it at the same time.  

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Robert Robb

    A questions similar to Richardsmithortegon's regarding character viewability between people.

    I am DM and I want to use the character builder to create a special, specific NPC.  I do not want them to be able to see its stats, preferably not even its existence as they're just about to encounter it.  Can I "create unassigned character" in the campaign and be safe, or do I need to use "character builder" outside the campaign?

    If I create an unassigned character within the campaign, what effect does it have when I "claim" it, being the DM?  I'm not sure if the system would just consider it another PC.

    I am enjoying the ever-expanding features.  I even took the time to enter my players' characters and shared via links with them to try and get them pumped up to use the system more.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    Robert Robb

    I question why you would create it in the campaign to begin with?  If it's just an NPC why not create it outside the campaign and just keep it in your characters section?  That's what I do.

    I do, also, have all of the products purchased and an active subscription so that could be part of why it works for me, and might be why it wouldn't work for you.  If that is the case then I don't believe you can make an unassigned character without everyone in the game being able to see them, no.  I could be wrong.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    florian schilling

    Why would i need an extra subscription to share stuff i already bought, if i would play with my friends at a table i wouldn't need a subscription... 

    The best thing would be if one needs to buy it and can share it to only one campaign. 
    Some people (like me (student's)) can't effort a 50$ + subscription...  

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    florian schilling

    That's the issue I'm having in truth.  I would understand more if I was paying a subscription fee to give me access to all of the materials without having to pay for them.  But by paying for them I've purchased them.  Just like how WOTC can't stop me from letting 500,000 different people use the single book I bought to play the game with, neither should they require me to limit how many characters I can make or people I can share with on here.  

    Is the cost worth it to me?  Yes.  I make lots of characters, and as a DM it's a highly valuable source to draw upon for my games to know that my players can keep an updated sheet I have access to at all times.  Is it worth the subscription price AND having to pay FULL PRICE for all the books?  No.  If I were able to put in some sort of code to show I'd bought the physical copy and get the related digital media on here, sure.  But on here I only have the media so long as this site is up and running.  Sure the Critical Role and Acquisitions Incorporated money is going to keep them going for a long time...but that doesn't change the fact that I've paid full price for materials that if this site shuts down I lose.  I've purchased every single book (except that crappy MTG crossover garbage and the latest release) and I have no actual ownership of them.  At the bare minimum I should be getting a PDF from WOTC of every book to cover what I've bought should this website ever go down.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Travis J Nevison

    So i am trying to add my third campaign to my content share. But it doesnt allow me too. It doesnt give me the option to add it. i removed it from my second campaign and it worked but i should be allowed to use it on 3 different campaigns. 

     

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    Travis,

    You can have up to three campaigns active at one time.  It isn't just your campaigns though.  So if, for example, you have two games you started as the DM and a third game you are just a player in and enable content sharing in all three you're used up for your three.  Do you have any games you're in that you enabled content sharing in as a player?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Travis J Nevison

    Yes I have one as the dm another as a player and this is a one shot from one of my players, so I would be another player in

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    That is strange then.  It should let you have that one open as well as the other two as long as you don't have a third one open somewhere.

     

    So to be clear:  When you click on "my campaigns" and you are loaded into the page you should see three campaigns.  Each campaign should be shown as a separate square with the pictures of the PCs along the top, then the name of the campaign, the date it was stated, the number of players, your roll, the dm (if you're not the dm) and a box that says "Content sharing enabled by X".  Then View Campaign (Deactivate and Delete if you're also the DM).  Where it says in blue "Content sharing enabled by X" (you being X) there are only two and not three?  Because if you see more than three campaigns in the page, and if there are a total of three that have you listed as the person who enabled content sharing, then that would be why.  Otherwise...it's still a mystery.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Travis J Nevison

    I have three campaigns there. And 2 have content share, the third doesn’t. It wont let me content share to it.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    That is very curious.

    I honestly cannot think of anything that would cause this.  You are going into the campaign to try to enable content sharing, right?

    I hope you get this solved.  That is very strange that it's limiting you to two somehow.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Justin mccleskey

    Is the 12 people per campaing limited by accounts or characters made?

    Meaning if i have a campaign shared and have one player who made 8 characters in it and then 4 players that made 1 character each, can i still add 7 more players? Or have i reached the cap of 12 

     

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    Justin

    The shared portion is neither here nor there, a campaign can only have 12 characters in it (because of ridiculous arbitrary numbers that do nothing but make more work for people trying to use the system).

    Each campaign can have a maximum of 12 characters in it at one time (active or unassigned).  So, in your example, if you had one player who made 8 characters in the campaign, and then 4 players who made 1 character each, you are at your 12 limit.  You can, however, have the player with 8 characters take some of them out of the game and then they can use them outside of the campaign but still build them in it to get the sharing properties (making the 12 character limit redundant thus why I said it's just more work for people trying to use the system).

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Renan Ceratto

    Hi

    I have the master tier subscription on my campaing, but I'm not the DM, how could I allow the DM to access the monster's list and descriptions of one book I've bought?

    e.g: I've bought the Xanathar's Guide to Everything and enabled shared content in the campaign, but the DM is not able to access pages like this: https://www.dndbeyond.com/monsters/tiny-servant

    He is sent to the marketplace page to buy the book.

    I understand that this page is not inside the campaign, but how could he access this info?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    Renan,

    Does your DM attempt to look the monsters up directly in the monsters index on here?  When I first tried opening that link I also was sent to the market place, but I own all of the books so it might be linking the page isn't the way to go.

    If he can't see them through going through the monsters (search for it manually), then I'm not sure why he'd be having a problem.  I am the DM and have been a player in campaigns with someone else as the DM and in both cases everyone in the campaign at that time had access to the materials I own (again, everything) so I'm not sure why he doesn't have access to it if you have everything enabled.

    So please have your DM go through the "Game Rules" tab and click the "Monsters" banner.  On the monsters page have him type in "Tiny" and see if "Tiny Servant" comes up in the search.  

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Renan Ceratto

    He tried these steps, but didn't work

    Take a look

     

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Timothy Brown

    The pictures are helpful, thank you.

    And you are certain you have content sharing enabled in the campaign you're in with him as the DM?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.